Featured Film

The documentary, For The Bible Tells Me So, will test your biblical hermeneutic, unconditional love, judgmental heart, and empathy for homosexuals. Though I wasn’t terribly impressive with its artistic/production quality, this film is a very thought provoking adventure following five Christian families, each with a gay or lesbian child.

Some passages to cling to during the viewing of this film would be: Matthew 7:1-5, John 7:24, Romans 14:10-13, James 4:11-12, 1 Corinthians 6:9, Romans 1:26, 1 Corinthians 5:12, and James 4:6.

~ by Dave Smith on March 30, 2008.

6 Responses to “Featured Film”

  1. Thanks for posting this. I’m downloading now, and I’ll take a peek at it once I finish a couple papers I’m working on.

    Have you heard of Robert Gagnon? He spoke at PTS a few weeks ago. I found his exegesis to be incredibly insightful and very convincing.

    http://www.robgagnon.net/

  2. Hey Ben,

    No, I haven’t heard of him, but checked out his website and it seems like a real useful resource. Thanks for posting it!

  3. Great recommendation Dave! Such a challenging issue, and a very though provoking film. I thought some of the science was a little suspect (e.g. the birth order theory I have not seen presented elsewhere).

    This really made me think (as I have thought before): what if one of my sons is/becomes gay? How will I respond? Will I try to fit Scripture to what I want or need it to say?

    I think this topic will be on our radar screen as Christians for a long time. So many extreme and un-gracious repsonses from the church have done much damage. There has to be a sound, Biblical, gracious response from the church regarding homosexuality if we are to be relevant to this vocal community.

  4. This movie forces the viewer to ask the question, “How would I react if my child said he or she was gay?” There is no way of escaping it, and honestly, whether Chirstion or not, this question scares the viewer. It is a good one to be faced with!

  5. after watching this movie (w/ jtk :)), i saw it as two sides trying to justify their own actions. the christians justified their hate saying homosexuality is wrong. the other side justified their side by giving reasons why homosexuality is ok. each side does not consider evaluating their own selves, which is quite dangerous, esp. if we are Christ-followers. we are all very good at criticizing others without looking at our own selves. there is danger in each community for AND against homosexuality. yes, as a majority, we as christians, think that homosexuality is wrong. but, this is no excuse for justifying hating the person in the sin. and, we as christians, would speak louder in our loving the person. to use the cliche, hate the sin, not the sinner. and, we should keep our eyes on our own paper. i, myself have enough to work on in being more like Him, w/o worrying about judging others.

  6. Good perspective and challenge for us all, Amy! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
