The Offering Envelope

Above is a scan of an offering envelope found yesterday on the floor after the first worship service of my church community.

I personally wish I knew who wrote it so I could help them in finding a new church. There are so many good ones in the area that I could recommend that would help her make the transition faster. But is that really the right approach?

How should church leaders react when they hear of such comments?

  1. Determine if they are suffering from “church consumerism” and if so, seek to correct their thinking.
  2. Ignore them, allowing them to make their own choice if and when the choose to leave.
  3. Walk along side with them in search of a church community that best meets their needs.
  4. Walk along side with them in search of a church community that best fits the utilization of their gifts.
  5. Other.

NOTE: I am assuming it is a female based on the writing. I also have no idea what “Planet Earth, my house after?” means other than this person is really into science and has the Discovery Channel‘s “Planet Earth” on DVD and stoked about watching it….which if that is the case, then I’m not sure I can help in finding a church.

~ by Dave Smith on November 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
