Kinesthetic Learning

In our day and age educators seek to target three main learning channels:

  1. Hearing
  2. Seeing
  3. Doing (Kinesthetic)

Those that are primarily kinesthetic learners (sometimes called T/K’s for “tactile/kinesthetic learners”) need movement in order to learn.  So they enjoy teaching methods that involve things they can touch, feel, and manipulate.

For me, one of the most unusual, and yet powerful kinesthetic, one-on-one teaching sessions came from leadership coach, Mark Dowds.  With the roots of his teaching and training found in neuro-linguistic programming, the details of the teaching experience follow:

  • First, Mark asked me to think of a recent, challenging experience in which it was difficult for me to stay composed and resourceful.
  • I then stood in the center of the room, while mentally placing myself back in the situation (with my eyes closed).  He then walked up to me and push on my chest a little, and then pull me back with my shoulders.
  • He then asked me to take a step back and then meditate on a context where I felt relaxed, resourceful, and aligned.
  • Again, another push and pull set.
  • Next, he asked me to take a step forward, back where I was standing, and again, to mediate on the previous context of challenge and conflict.
  • Again, another push and pull set.
  • While remaining in the same spot, he then altered my thinking to mediate upon a conflicting situation with another person, in which I didn’t like the outcome.
  • With my eyes still closed, I was asked to express my feelings of that situation, as if I were back in the midst of it.
  • He then pushed me back a step, out of the spot where I was standing.
  • I was then asked to step back into the spot where I was standing.
  • He then read allow Jeremiah 17:7-8 and ask me to mediate on the words.
  • Again, he pushed me out of the spot where I was standing.
  • Next, he asked me to step back into the spot (which represented the past context of conflict), but to do so with a new perspective filtered through the Jeremiah 17 passage.
  • I was then asked to describe my feelings, and if and how the outcome was now different from my perspective.
  • While standing there, I was then asked to create a mental picture of a symbol that best connected me to the scriptural truth that he read.
  • I was asked to describe this mental image.
  • I was then told to open my eyes and step out of the spot where I was standing.

Yea, pretty wack…but somehow it worked in truly allowing me to filter a situation through truth for a more biblical perspective.  An interesting approach to “be transformed by the renewing of your mind” through scripture.

~ by Dave Smith on April 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
