Lewis’ Love

I was reminded today of C.S. Lewis’ profound love for his deceased wife from the book, A Grief Observed, when he wrote:

For a good wife contains so many persons in herself.  What was she not to me?  She was my daughter and my mother, my pupil and my teacher, my subject and my sovereign; and always holding all these in solution, my trusty comrade, friend, ship-mate, fellow-soldier.  My mistress, but at the same time all that any man friend (and I have good ones) has ever been to me.  Perhaps more…

Did you ever know, dear, how much you took away when you left?

The quote reminded me of how good I have it with my wife, Jen,…and also how ungrateful I am that I have her as my wife.

~ by Dave Smith on August 25, 2009.

One Response to “Lewis’ Love”

  1. Ane…we are equally grateful for Jen as our Daugter (in-law)

Leave a Reply

 
