As a Matter of Fat

This past Tuesday I was with a group that went through a fitness screening at a local wellness center.  Basically there were stations throughout the upper floor of the building, with medical staff conducting various fitness and blood tests determining our heart condition, cholesterol levels, strength, etc.

I have to admit; I was going from test to test and feeling pretty good about myself.  I arrogantly thought, “Hey, I am pretty fit!”

But then all my positive emotions came crashing down in a matter of minutes.

After finishing one test, I was directed to this young and fairly attractive woman who brought me into a private room and closed the door.

I thought to myself, ”What fitness challenge does she have for me to master now?”

Then, she turned to me and said, “Please take off your shirt.”

“What?”

“Take off your shirt.”

“Why?”

“Because I have to get your body-fat measurements.”

“Oh,” I replied, slowing taking off my shirt wondering if she will notice the tire around my waist and thinking my afternoon snack wasn’t such a good idea.

“I am a little bloated today from a sugar cookie I had with my coffee,” hoping she thinks on normal days I strut around with a six-pack.

“Yea, that’s what they all say,” un-amused by my feeble attempt to higher her perception.

She then pulled out what looked like a device I once used in high school geometry class and started pinching portions of my body fat to measure.  With each grasp of my cookie-dough chunks, I could feel all self-esteem and pride oozing away.

After each measurement, she would pull away to write down a few numbers on a piece of paper.  I thought, “I am sure that number is too high.  I didn’t even know numbers could go that high.  I am going to start working out 7 days a week and cutting out all sweets.”

When I was done, she said I could put my shirt back on.  Defeated, demoralized, and defamed, I exited the room with head lowered.  I then drove home, sat in front of the TV, and had some cookies and milk to sooth my pain.

I know Paul says to his young pastor friend, “For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things (1 Timothy 4:8),” but when someone is poking around at your body, your values sure do quickly shift!

~ by Dave Smith on January 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “As a Matter of Fat”

  1. when does the abuse to our bodies become sin?

  2. Hmmm…I wonder if usually such abuse comes from something deeper within…an addictive behavior or improper motive…so if that is the case, does the sin transpire before the actual “abuse” on ones self?

Leave a Reply

 
