Heavy Quotations

On Wednesday I went on a tour through the Justin T. Rogers Hospice Care Center, hearing presentations from hospice clients, board members, and doctors.  Here are a few key quotes that stuck with me:

“Following the teachings of Dr. Ira Byock, we seek to have every dying client say the four most healing statements:  ‘Please forgive me.  I forgive you.  Thank you.  I love you.’”

“The congregants of Faith Luthern Church provide us with soup every day.”

“When I walked in Justin T. Rogers Hospice Care Center, it was the first time in the last four months that I felt peace.”

“We’re a ‘deathaphobic’ culture.”

“40% of a person’s life-time spending is used within his or her last two weeks of life.” (though I think the person meant 40% of Medicare)

“May your memory be a blessing.”

~ by Dave Smith on February 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
