What’s It Like?

A few people have asked me what it was like to first go through the stages of dealing with an unexpected pregnancy (after already having four children), and to then find out three weeks later that the pregnancy included twins.

As I prefer to explain things via image over word, I think Liars say it best in their newest video, “Scissor.”

A few things I have learned from this unexpected “boulder” thus far:

  • I am an extremely selfish person that prefers my plans and agenda over the desires of others.
  • Though I value life and adhere to biblical principles, I can definitely empathize with those that partake in abortion to ensure their agenda trumps the agenda of another life (an uncomfortable sentiment, I know).  I am obviously not justifying such actions, but I can better empathize for those suffering from post-abortion syndrome and their rationale for such a decision.
  • Whatever small adjustment I have to make, it compares little to the mental and physical changes my wife has to go through at the age of 37.
  • That though this is hardly a tragedy (but a blessing), the support from family and friends has been rewarding.
  • That whatever next steps God has planned for us, it will better position us in a place of weakness, leaning on His strength and not ours.
  • Certain contraceptive devices are NOT full-proof!
~ by Dave Smith on February 27, 2010.

2 Responses to “What’s It Like?”

  1. Ok, after watching that video, I really want to apologize for the joke/link I sent. But, just to let you know, I’d be happy to help you toss a few of those rocks overboard.

  2. Oh stop it! It is definitely comical as well. I am all about “Vas Madness!” I can be their poster boy!

    I am just being a little over dramatic here, so no worries.

    The video cracks me up too.

Leave a Reply

 
