Regretful Confession

In a recent Barna study, less than half of today’s churchgoers see their churches as strongly loving, and I think partly because we typically don’t do well in helping fellow believers in sin, feeling superior to their sin issues.  Sadly, I know I am to blame for part of those survey results.

Particularly, I remember when a friend of mine in my high school, church youth group took a destructive and biblically immoral path.  Looking down on her, I wanted her to feel judgment for her sins, so my other high school friend and I wrote an anonymous letter to her parents describing her actions.  Watching her suffer the consequences of punishment gave us pleasure, while actually thinking we were doing the right thing.  We thought we were spiritually something, when in fact we were far from nothing.

Thankfully, about seven years later God’s Word revealed to me my self-righteous and destructive actions.  I apologize to my former friend, and asked for her forgiveness.

Paul says to us:

“Brothers, if someone is caught in a sin you who are spiritual should restore him gently.  But watch yourself, or you also may be tempted.  If anyone thinks he is something when he is nothing, he deceives himself.  Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else,  for each one should carry his own load (Galatians 6:1-5).”

As followers of the Christ we are to lovingly restore fellow followers in the faith, and to do so humbly.  Easier said than done, as we tend to be more concerned with our friend’s unrighteousness, than our own self-righteousness.

~ by Dave Smith on March 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
